Meeting a Kindred Spirit (Ottawa Photographers)

Chinese Style Engagement Portraits at the Arboretum and Byward Market

I love Asia and when I say that, what I mean is that I REALLY LOVE Asia.  My Chinese friends (yes you, Ya-Wen and Amanda) joke and say that I am a wannabe Asian.  I think they’re right.  I mean, I’ve wanted to visit China and walk along the Great Wall of China since I was a kid (I got the chance back in 2005).  I lived in Asia for a year and a half (South Korea and Japan) and I’ve traveled all over Asia and Southeast Asia.  The theme for my own wedding was Chinese, with all of my bridesmaids wearing Chinese dresses and my going away outfit being a traditional red Choeongsam, tailor made in Beijing.

Liking all things Asian, brings me to write about this great couple who I will have the pleasure of photographing their farm wedding on June 1 of this year (Oh, how I love photographing on farms and in fields!).  I knew that it was going to be a good match between us when the bride wrote in her initial e-mail, “Seems like I’ve found a kindred spirit who loves Pinterest and has a passion for travel and photography.”  During our initial meeting, we were able to talk about a few of our own experiences in Mongolia.  Now really, it’s not every day that I find another person whom I can talk about mutual Mongolian experiences with, ya know?

Since their rustic wedding is taking place at Mariposa Farm, Eric and Betty-Ann decided to have an urban backdrop for their engagement session.   We decided on the Byward Market as well as Major’s Hill Park, which I was already looking forward to, but then when I found out that Betty-Ann was going to wear her red Chinese dress for the photo shoot, I was BEYOND excited.  I have wanted to do a photo session like this for a long time.  And what made this engagement session even more spectacular were the beautiful cherry and apple blossoms that were conveniently in bloom.  Not one to pass up an opportunity that really only comes once a year, we first took photos by the cherry and apple trees at the arboretum in order to get a gorgeous floral backdrop and later by the tulips in bloom for the Ottawa tulip festival.

The few days leading up to the photo shoot had me concerned because the weather forecast was cool and wet weather.  I even suggested that we change the date, but that was not possible for the couple, so we went ahead with the photo shoot.  It rained in the middle of the day and the clouds were gloomy and looming.  But as we began to shoot, the skies cleared, the sun came out and it warmed up a bit.  The end result was beautiful weather to help create beautiful engagement photos.  The e-session went very well.  Eric and Betty-Ann rocked it and I got some amazing shots.  I hope that you will enjoy the photos as much as I do.

Update:  Check out Eric and Betty-Ann’s wedding photos.

ottawa engagement portraits spring blossoms arboretum ottawa chinese engagement photos spring arboretumottawa asian portrait photographers arboretumbest ottawa chinese wedding photographers arboretumottawa chinese e-session spring arboretumottawa wedding photographers e-session spring arboretumottawa wedding photographers byward market chinese engagement portraits ottawa byward marketottawa chinese engagement portraits byward market ottawa asian engagement portraits byward market ottawa asian engagement byward market best ottawa wedding photographers asian engagement photosottawa wedding photographers major's hill park tulip festival ottawa wedding photographers engagement photos tulip festival ottawa wedding photographers engagement parliament hill

One thought on “Meeting a Kindred Spirit (Ottawa Photographers)

Leave a Reply

