New York City, Part One

New York City, Part One (Ottawa Photographers)

I have wanted to go to New York City since I was a teenager. I have seen so many photos of Times Square, the Statue of Liberty, Central Park, etc.  And of course, when I watched Seinfeld and Sex and the City it made me love the city even more, so naturally I wanted to go and visit to see what it was really like.

I finally had the opportunity to go to New York City with my sister this past November.  Personally, I would have preferred to have gone in September or even mid-October, but my sister was unable to get time off of work until November, so that is why we went then.  And don’t you know our flight arrived between two storms–Hurricane Sandy and another storm.  We flew into Newark airport and a few hours later the airport was closed.  However, we were truly blessed on this trip because the morning that we arrived, the tunnel connecting New Jersey to New York was opened that morning (it was flooded up to 15 feet of water) as well as the subway that we needed to take to get around opened up all of the way (it was also closed due to flooding from Hurricane Sandy).  Here is a photo that I took of the New York Post front page on November 7 (the day after the storm).  At least they can find some humour in their situation.

new-york-city-hurricane-sandy

My sister and I purchased a two day New York City pass when we arrived.  For $139 it not only allows you to enter 70 various NYC attractions, but it also lets you skip the line in a lot of them as well, which can sometimes come in handy when you don’t want to wait 30+ minutes in a line.  With our pass, we visited:

We would have visited the Statue of Liberty, but it was closed for repairs due to the hurricane.  We ate at the famous Ellen’s Stardust Diner, which was an interesting experience.  And where else could you find Hello Kitty, Darth Vader, Mutant Ninja Turtles, Sponge Bob and The Naked Cowboy all in one location, other than Times Square?  For five bucks, we got our photo taken with Chewy, Darth Vader and a storm trooper.  Good times for sure.

new york city times square star wars

I must also mention that we got a pretty good deal on a hotel/hostel in New York City.  We stayed at the Broadway Hotel (Broadway/101st Street).  But don’t actually book through their website.  You get a much better deal to book them through Booking.com. This is not out of the ordinary to get a better deal by booking through a website that is not owned by the hotel you are booking.  I have seen this other times when I have booked hotels.  (You don’t get to visit as many places as I have on a relatively small budget without being a money savvy traveler.)  To anyone planning on visiting New York City, you will not be disappointed.  I will add more photos of New York City later.

One thought on “New York City, Part One

  1. That’s too bad that you guys were caught between two storms. At least everything worked out in the end for you. I love NYC. It is one of the best places that I’ve been.

Leave a Reply

