One Year Old Baby Cake Smash

One year baby cake smash (Ottawa Baby Photographers)

Besides my daughter’s newborn photos shoots, I have not put so much effort and planning into a photo shoot as I have with this particular photo session.  I have been planning this cake smash for my daughter since around the time she was born.  Being a photographer, I couldn’t help but document my daughter’s first year with monthly photo shoots, so what better way to finish off her 12th month than to do a cake smash photo shoot.  I wanted to make sure that not only were the decorations cute and fun, but I wanted the cake to be the pinnacle of perfection.

I don’t know why, but ever since I was pregnant with my daughter I associate the colour lilac with her and so I wanted to incorporate lilac (lavender…po-TAY-to…po-TAH-to… whatever you want to call it) into my photo shoot.  Thimble Cakes (Bank & Gilmour) were very accommodating to my specific requests for my daughter’s cake smash session cake.  I wanted chocolate so that it would show up well in the photos.  I wanted a creamy icing decorated with rosettes all over the top.  And I was also specific about not only wanting lavender icing for the cake (in honour of my sweet baby), but it couldn’t be too light so that it would still pop out in the photos.  And the cherry on top of my requests was that not only did I not want them to use sugar in the cake or icing (since I feel that my baby is too young to have a sudden blast of sugar like that), but that I did not want them to use any artificial sweeteners.  The exact wording in my e-mail to Wendy was,

“Are you able to do a chocolate cake with lilac coloured icing, but still sugar free?  And by sugar free, what do you use to sweeten it?  I want a natural sweetener—not any artificial sweeteners like splenda, aspartame, saccharine, sucralose or acesulfame potassium.  I also do not want her eating fructose or corn sweeteners.  I am sorry that I am so picky.  I just don’t want my one year old eating that kind of stuff.” 

That’s kind of a tall order and I do not doubt that most bakers would have shuddered to think about fulfilling this order, but Wendy at Thimble Cakes met my request and simply wrote,  “Not a problem at all to make that pretty cake.  We use agave and xylitol.  Both are all natural sweeteners.  We don’t like artificial around here either!”    Yay!  I was happy to hear that they could do it and without sugar to boot!  That totally made my day.

I was delighted when I picked up the pretty cupcake cake and I drove like an old granny all the way home in order to keep the cake from toppling over if I turned a corner too quickly (which I do most of the time).  Oh, and then I had to make sure that I didn’t wipe out on the ice in my driveway while carrying it.  But I did manage to get the cake home and then I had to set up the props, lights, flooring, etc. before my little girl got too tired and cranky to want to do the shoot.  I must thank my stepson for helping me out by entertaining Lily while I set up, did test shots and then was ready to shoot.

I must admit that my daughter was NOT pleased with getting icing on her at all.  She immediately began crying and protesting.  She was absolutely disgusted with having thick, gooey icing on her hands and feet.  So I stopped shooting in order to calm her down.  I then had my stepson let her taste some icing and then she slowly began to warm up to that big cupcake in front of her.  It was a lot of fun seeing Lily get into the nitty and gritty of the shoot.  And man, I got some FANTASTIC shots of my little girl—ones that I am going to cherish for a lifetime as will she.  You can check out more of my baby shots as well as cake smash photos on my Little Lamb Photography website.

For those interested in booking a cake smash photo session for your baby (one year cake smash or two year cake smash), contact me for a price list.  I shoot these sessions either in my home in L’Ange Gardien or outdoors in Ottawa or Gatineau.   And with that, I leave you with some fun and cute shots of my favourite little girl in the whole wide world.  Enjoy!  You can check out more of my cake smash photography in my photo gallery.

ottawa photographers thimble cakes cupcake7ottawa photographers thimble cakes cupcake6

Ottawa baby photographers large cupcake cake smashGatineau baby photographers large cupcake cake smashOttawa baby photographers large cupcake cake smash thimble cakesOttawa baby photographers large cupcake cake smash thimble cakes2Ottawa photographers large cupcake cake smashOttawa photographers large cupcake cake smash3Ottawa photographers large cupcake cake smash2Ottawa photographers baby cake smash2Ottawa photographers baby cake smashOttawa cake smash photography

4 thoughts on “One Year Old Baby Cake Smash

Leave a Reply

