Being grateful to be a mother

Being grateful to be a Mother (Ottawa Photographers)

It’s a few weeks after Thanksgiving and I would like to write about what I am grateful for.  Of course, I am so grateful to have a loving husband and a good family, but this year is different for me than any other year of my life.  This year was the first Thanksgiving that I could celebrate with my very own child.  I am so grateful for such an opportunity and blessing.

I do not doubt that every mother is grateful for her child.  However, I think that because I had to wait longer than most women to have a child that I am much more grateful to have her in my life.  Every day I thank the Lord for the privilege to not only be a mother, but to be a mother to my dear little girl.  She brings me so much joy it is sometimes overwhelming.  I get teary eyed a lot when I just look at her or even think about her.   I wanted to be a mother for so many years, but it just wasn’t in the cards for me, until now.

Yes, I would have had more energy if I had her when I was younger, but I think that things happen in life at the right time.  I totally believe that everything happens for a reason–even the bad or not so pleasant things.  Perhaps I just wasn’t ready to be a mother yet.

All I know is that I am so grateful for all of the things in my life that I was able to do while single, such as graduating college twice, getting a university degree, paying off my student loans, doing a lot of things on my bucket list, travelling all over the world and living and working in two foreign countries.  These things were important to me, so I am grateful that I was able to take advantage of being single and do them.

I must admit that being a mother is a lot harder than I thought it would be.  It consumes my time 24/7.  As I have written in another post, I have lost a lot of sleep trying to balance work with taking care of my little girl.  There just aren’t enough hours in the day!  But I do what I can, when I can.  And I keep telling myself that it WILL get better as she gets older.  I also tell myself to try to live in the moment and savour these wonderful times with my precious baby while she is still a little baby.  Oh how I love to look at her sunshine face!  It just makes me SO happy–happier than I could have hoped or imagined.  And with that, I leave you with a recent photo of my beautiful little girl.

ottawa-baby-fall-portraits

Leave a Reply

